What Are The Seven Types of Chakra

We have 114 chakras in our body, but there are seven that we focus on – but what are they, where are they and what do they do?

Hello, I'm Samantha
A born intuitive, educator & healer who believes that every one is capable of living an abundant and aligned life.
Learn more about me.
most read:
A 10-Minute Exercise To Help You Find Your Life Purpose
How To Increase Your Self-Esteem through Pride Journalling
What Is Reiki Healing and How Does It Work?
Learn more about working with me
tell me more


Chakras are the energy points of your body. Each chakra represents a different aspect of your being and is connected to a different organ. The goal of yoga is to balance these seven centres in order to achieve physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

Root Chakra

The root chakra, our first chakra, is located at the base of your spine, between your buttocks and genitals. It’s also known as the Muladhara Chakra because it sits on top of a triangular bone called the sacrum (which means “sacred”). The colour associated with this chakra is red, and its element is earth.

The root chakra has several functions; it helps us feel grounded in our bodies and connected to others; if it’s out of balance, we might have trouble feeling secure enough to express ourselves honestly and openly with others–or even just at home! If you’re experiencing chronic low back pain or pelvic issues like incontinence and depression or anxiety (which can also cause lower back pain), consider balancing your root chakra before moving on to other areas, such as the heart or third eye. The root chakra is our base, and in order to balance other chakras, the root must first be balanced.

The root chakra is also the seat of our survival instinct. It’s responsible for ensuring that we have food, water and shelter; if it’s out of balance, we might feel like everything is “out to get us” or that everything will be taken away from us at any moment. This can lead to panic attacks and anxiety, which can make it difficult to relax in life’s experiences.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located at the base of your spine. It’s associated with emotions, pleasure, and creativity. When this chakra is balanced, you can experience happiness and joy in your life while also having an appreciation for beauty in nature and art. Out of balance it can lead to fear and anxiety because you feel like there isn’t enough time or resources to fulfil your desires.

The colour associated with this chakra is orange; when it’s open, it will bring more energy into your body through food intake, so make sure that whatever foods you choose to eat are ones that are high in vitamins A & C which help boost immunity levels while promoting healthy skin cells too!

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the level of your belly button. It’s associated with the element of fire, the colour yellow and emotions such as anger or joy.

The solar plexus chakra influences how you see yourself, how others see you, and what motivates you. This can be either positive or negative–it all depends on how open or closed off from others your sense of self is at any given moment.

The solar plexus chakra is associated with our self-esteem and confidence. If you feel good about yourself, you will be able to look at the world positively. On the other hand, if your self-esteem is low, then so, too, will your outlook on life.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located in the centre of your chest and is associated with green, air and spring. Its element is associated with Venus, who rules over love. The sense associated with this chakra is hearing, while smell also plays an important role in how we perceive love.

The heart chakra is our emotional centre, which aims to open us up to love and connection. It is associated with compassion, empathy and healing. When this chakra is balanced, we feel more connected to others, are better able to give love freely and feel less lonely due to this connection.

Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is located at the base of your throat and represents communication, creativity and self-expression. It’s associated with the colour blue, ether (space), sound vibration, speech and hearing. The Throat Chakra helps you to speak your truth clearly and honestly without fear or hesitation. It gives you the ability to listen deeply so that others feel heard as well!

The Throat Chakra also connects us with our intuition; it allows us access to higher spiritual guidance from within ourselves, known as “inner knowing”. This means we can trust ourselves when making decisions or taking action because our gut feeling will always guide us in the right direction!

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located between your eyebrows and is associated with intuition, imagination and creative expression. When it’s balanced, you can tap into the universal consciousness and access information that isn’t always obvious to others. The third eye chakra is also responsible for creating new ideas or solving problems from a fresh perspective–it gives us the ability to see things from different perspectives so that we can make better decisions in our lives.

The best way to heal this area of your body is by meditating on its purpose: intuition, imagination and creativity. Use positive affirmations such as “I trust my instincts” or “I have a great imagination.” If you’re having trouble focusing on any one thing specifically related to these topics (e.g., if you feel like there aren’t enough opportunities for self-expression), try using guided meditation apps like Insight.Timer or Calm, where they’ll walk through some exercises specifically designed around opening up those channels of communication between mind and body!

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is located at the top of your head. It’s associated with spirituality and enlightenment, and it’s associated with the colour violet. The pineal gland, which produces the hormone melatonin that regulates sleep cycles, is located here. The pituitary gland produces growth hormones that help regulate other bodily functions like metabolism and reproduction.

This area is also connected to our ability to dream (which we can access through meditation), and our sense of self-worth–or lack thereof–and self-esteem issues may also be associated with an imbalance in this area.

When this chakra is out of balance, you may experience depression, anxiety, feelings of isolation or loneliness, and difficulty sleeping and focusing. You may also feel like you’re stuck in a rut or that life isn’t moving forward.


The seven chakras are the energy points of your body. They help you balance and align yourself with the universe to feel good in every moment of your life. By working with these centres, we can improve ourselves physically, mentally and spiritually.

hey there!

I'm Samantha

A born intuitive, educator & healer who believes that every one is capable of living an abundant and aligned life - without the hustle!

more about me

free download

The 'Power of No' Ebook

A 14-page ebook to help you to create blue sky in your life through the power of saying 'No'.

Identify when you need to say 'no', what your people pleasing beliefs are and how to say no politely but firmly.